Research Grants

BCAN is committed to supporting bladder cancer research. From its inception, BCAN has cultivated a strong partnership with the leading members of the bladder cancer medical community to encourage collaboration among all the parties dedicated to the study of bladder cancer and its prevention, diagnosis and treatment.  BCAN’s current research priorities are guided by the Bladder Cancer Research Network (BRCN) Management Committee. Our goal is to identify the best and most promising research that will provide the greatest opportunity to advance the understanding of the biology of bladder cancer and how it pertains to improving the management and treatment of this disease. BCAN raises funds and awards grants to support innovative bladder cancer research to develop lifesaving treatments.

Bladder Cancer Research Innovation Award

A new award for 2014, BCAN announces the Bladder Cancer Research Innovation Award of $300,000 over a two-year period for an experienced investigator who will break new ground in the field of bladder cancer.  The aim of the award is to support exceptionally novel and creative projects with great potential to produce breakthroughs in the management of bladder cancer.  Please contact BCAN if you have any questions at  For more information about this award, please click here.


Young Investigator Awards

Raising the bar on research, BCAN launched its Young Investigator Awards in 2013, comprised of three research awards of $100,000 each, over a two-year period. These grants will fund researchers who may be working in basic, translational, clinical, epidemiologic, bioengineering or any other scientific or research field, but are also working in a research environment capable of supporting transformational bladder cancer research.  Please contact BCAN if you have any questions at For more information about this award, please click here.


John Quale Travel Fellowship Program

The John Quale Travel Fellowship Program is a special opportunity for early career investigators interested in bladder cancer research to attend the annual Bladder Cancer Think Tank Meeting.

The $1,500 travel fellowships awarded each year are intended to defray travel-related costs related to attending the meeting. Please contact BCAN if you have any questions at For more information about this program please click here.


Prior to the commencement of our Young Investigator Awards, BCAN provided an annual award to support up to $25,000 in direct costs associated with a research proposal that addresses problems specific to bladder cancer. The purpose of this grant was to advance research that will increase the understanding of bladder cancer risk, biology, prevention, and treatment while encouraging young investigators to pursue a career in bladder cancer research.  In 2011, BCAN received a generous multi-year gift to support this award from Raymond and Maria Floyd.  The awardees from 2010-2012 can be found here.

Share this page:FacebookTwitterGoogle+tumblrLinkedInEmail
This website is supported by a generous grant from Photocure